The structure of ILEG and its legal operations are guided by its constitutive document, a Trust deed. The overall policy making body is the Board of Trustees which is composed of professionals with immense experience and expertise in various areas of sustainable development law and policy. The following are the current members of the Board of Trustees.

Board of Directors

Dr. Collins Odote

Collins is the Chairman of the Board. He is an advocate of the High Court of Kenya havingreceived his Bachelor of Laws (LL.B), Master of Laws (LL.M) and Doctorate (Ph.D) in Law from the University of Nairobi, where he also serves as a lecturer at its Centre for Advanced Studies in Environmental Law and Policy(CASELAP).

He an experienced consultant and academic with interests in the areas of regional development, governance, international humanitarian law, human rights, property theory, sustainable development and management of natural resources.

Benson Owuor Ochieng

Benson is the Treasurer of the Board. He is an advocate of the High Court of Kenya and also practices in the firm of Ochieng’ Ochieng’ and Company Advocates. He holds a Bachelor of Laws (LL.B) and Master of Laws (LL.M) degrees from the University of Nairobi.

He is also a lecturer at the University of Nairobi and is a researcher with particular interest in legal, policy and institutional mechanisms for managing the environment and sustainable development. In addition, he has consulted widely on emerging environmental and policy issues facing the country.